Gluten-Free Sandwich Bun

by Marilyn
(Plainfield, IN)

Marilyn's question...

Who has the best gluten-free sandwich bun when eating out? I so want a good hamburger! WITH a bun. Have any Chick Fil A's, Chili's or TGIFriday's added them to their menus?

Suzy's answer

With the increase in gluten-sensitivity and Celiac Disease, many people are asking this question. Most of the time, when you order a hamburger at a restuarant, you have to order it without the bun, if you are sensitive to gluten.

Although there are a number of recipes for making your own gluten-free hamburger buns, restuarant chains have been slower to fill this need.

I did some research and there are some restuarants, such as b.good on the East Coast that do have a gluten-free hamburger bun. Subway is apparently in the process of testing a gluten-free sub bun, which is not quite the same thing, but close!

One suggestion is that you contact your favorite restuarants in your local area and encourage them to include a gluten-free hamburger bun on their menu. You might be surprised at the power of the consumer to effect such a change.

In the meantime, anyone who lives in Plainfield, Indiana who knows of a restuarant that offers a gluten free sandwich bun, please post a comment here or contact us through the Contact Me button and we will pass along the information.

Thanks for posting a great question, Marilyn, and please keep us posted on your progress in this regard!

Eat and be healthy with my warmest regards,

Suzy Staywell

Nutrition page

Many foods are hidden sources of gluten

Many packaged soups, salad dressings, lunchmeats, some cheeses and cheese spreads, ketchup, candies, soy sauce, frozen dinners and even non-dairy creamers may be hidden sources of gluten.

Read the label

In addition to anything that says “wheat” or “gluten,” look for these words on the ingredient list of food labels, as they may indicate the presence of gluten:

Food dyes (Red or Yellow)
Hydrolyzed Vegetable Protein (HVP)
Malt , Malt Syrup, or Malt Flavoring
Modified Starch or Modified Food Starch
Monoglycerides and Diglycerides
Natural Flavors or Artificial Flavors
Textured Vegetable Protein
Vegetable Gum
Vegetable Protein
White vinegar

Keep in mind that this is just a partial list.

Gluten-free Foods

Even though it will take some diligence to keep the gluten out of your diet, there are a lot of gluten free foods that you can include in your diet. These include the following:

Vegetables (fresh or check labels for canned and frozen)
Fruits (fresh or check labels for canned and frozen)
Gluten free grains and products made from them (listed above)
Nuts and nut butters
Legumes (unprocessed beans, peas lentils)
Fresh meat, fish and poultry (not canned or processed)
Most plain yogurt (check the label)
Vegetable oils
Popcorn (pop it yourself to avoid additives)

Without a doubt, the best way to insure that your diet is gluten free is to eat fresh, unprocessed foods that you prepare yourself using ingredients and products that you know for sure do not contain gluten.

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask Suzy.

Bright Hope Kids

Bright Hope International brings hope to those living on less than $1 a day.

Click on this link to help feed the hungry children of the world.

Every little bit you can give will help these kids toward a healthy future. Thank you in advance for you kindness and generosity.

Sign up to receive emails of my blog

Healthy Eating Blog

�ª Grab this Headline Animator

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner

Most Recent Articles

  1. Recipe Sloppy Joes Made without Meat

    Oct 21, 16 09:05 AM

    Recipe Sloppy Joes for Lacto-vegetarian, Lacto-ovo-vegetarian, and Vegan.

    Read More

  2. Recipe Chili

    Oct 20, 16 09:26 AM

    Recipe Chili - a delicious vegetarian chili that is chock full of nutritious ingredients and a mainstay of a healthy eating lifestyle.

    Read More

  3. Recipe Baklava - A Holiday Tradition

    Oct 19, 16 09:32 AM

    Recipe Baklava - Delightful nutty treat made with honey and phyllo leaves.

    Read More

Have a question about eating healthy?

Get answers to your healthy eating questions.